Trial NCT04804644

Testing if High Dose Radiation Only to the Sites of Brain Cancer Compared to Whole Brain Radiation That Avoids the Hippocampus is Better at Preventing Loss of Memory and Thinking Ability

This phase III trial compares the effect of stereotactic radiosurgery to standard of care
memantine and whole brain radiation therapy that avoids the hippocampus (the memory zone of
the brain) for the treatment of small cell lung cancer that has spread to the brain.
Stereotactic radiosurgery is a specialized radiation therapy that delivers a single, high
dose of radiation directly to the tumor and may cause less damage to normal tissue. Whole
brain radiation therapy delivers a low dose of radiation to the entire brain including the
normal brain tissue. Hippocampal avoidance during whole-brain radiation therapy (HA-WBRT)
decreases the amount of radiation that is delivered to the hippocampus which is a brain
structure that is important for memory. The drug, memantine, is also often given with whole
brain radiotherapy because it may decrease the risk of side effects related to thinking and
memory. Stereotactic radiosurgery may decrease side effects related to memory and thinking
compared to standard of care HA-WBRT plus memantine.


Memantine Hydrochloride, Neurocognitive Assessment, Stereotactic Radiosurgery, Whole-Brain Radiotherapy


Metastatic Lung Small Cell Carcinoma, Metastatic Malignant Neoplasm in the Brain, Recurrent Lung Small Cell Carcinoma, Stage IV Lung Cancer AJCC v8, Stage IVA Lung Cancer AJCC v8, Stage IVB Lung Cancer AJCC v8


Vinai Gondi, Christina K. Cramer, Bryan A. Faller, Rodolfo E. Bordoni, Angel E. Torano, Samir Narayan, Jay W. Carlson, Michael D. Mix, Preston D. Steen, Tyler Gunter, Jeremy M. Kilburn, Joel Grow, Jason C. Ye, Kalika P. Sarma, Kamila Nowak Choi, Terence T. Sio, Timothy V. Waxweiler, Debra M. Prow, Mark V. Mishra, Jack J. Hong, Emily S. Kowalski, Richard A. Peterson, Rajesh Bajaj, Charlotte Rivers, Andrew J. Huang, Anamaria R. Yeung, Kristin A. Higgins, Gaurav Marwaha, Steven J. Chmura, Kimberley S. Mak, Nitin Ohri, Kyle Wang, Prashant Vempati, Rodney E. Wegner, Anand Mahadevan, Andrew M. Baschnagel

See list of participating sites