Skip to content
National Cancer Institute National Cancer Institute U.S. National Institutes of Health www.cancer.gov
Division of Cancer Prevention logo
Home Site Map Contact DCP
Programs & Resources
Chemopreventive Agent Development Research Group

About the Research Program

Mission

  • Provides scientific and administrative oversight for preclinical chemoprevention agent development up to early phase I chemopreventive agent research utilizing physiological endpoints in healthy volunteers.
  • Research includes all classes of agents (e.g. pharmaceuticals, micronutrients) and includes synthesis/extraction, and mechanistic studies (e.g. assays using high-throughput gene analysis technology, cell cultures from high-risk tissue, carcinogenesis related biochemical activities, technologies focusing on molecular targets and their modulation leading to the identification and optimization of promising chemopreventive agents).
  • Assists extramural investigators to bridge the gap between discovery and clinical testing through management of the PREVENT Cancer Preclinical Drug Development Program.
  • Works with DCP clinical research groups in clinical trials development, agent acquisition, IND - directed toxicology and related research.
  • Communicates with extramural and intramural investigators and industry and provides technical support and research resources for chemopreventive agent development.

Research Group Staff

See contact information, room numbers, and more on the Staff Directory in the About DCP section.

Vernon Steele, PhD, MPH
Chief
E-mail: steelev@mail.nih.govPhone: (240) 276-7030

See full bio in the About DCP section.

Martha Basinger

E-mail: basingem@mail.nih.gov

Phone: (240) 276-7111

Dan Boring, RPh, PhD

E-mail: boringd@mail.nih.gov

Phone: (240) 276-7094

Barbara Dunn, MD PhD

E-mail: dunnb@mail.nih.gov

Phone: (240) 276-7093

Brian Klein, PhD

E-mail: brian.klein@nih.gov

Phone: (240) 276-6685

Ronald Lubet, PhD

E-mail: lubetr@mail.nih.gov

Phone: (240) 276-7099

Winfred Malone, PhD, MPH

E-mail: malonew@mail.nih.gov

Phone: (240) 276-7096

Mark Miller, PhD
E-mail: mark.miller5@nih.govPhone: (240) 276-5004

See full bio in the About DCP section.

Marjorie Perloff, MD

E-mail: perloffm@mail.nih.gov

Phone: (240) 276-7097

Danny Prince, ESA

E-mail: danny.prince@nih.gov

Phone: (240) 276-7085

Robert Shoemaker, PhD

E-mail: shoemakr@mail.nih.gov

Phone: (240) 276-7077

Chen Suen, PhD, RPh

E-mail: chen.suen@nih.gov

Phone: (240) 276-7095

Farzana Walcott, PhD

E-mail: walcottfl@mail.nih.gov

Phone: (240) 276-7661


Research Group Contact Information

Phone: (240) 276-7030
Fax: (240) 276-7847

US Mail Address
Chemopreventive Agent Development
Research Group, DCP, NCI
9609 Medical Center Drive
MSC 9787
Bethesda, MD 20892-9787
    Commercial Delivery Address
Chemopreventive Agent Development
Research Group, DCP, NCI
9609 Medical Center Drive
Rockville, MD 20850



Back to top