Skip to content
National Cancer Institute National Cancer Institute U.S. National Institutes of Health
Division of Cancer Prevention logo
Home Site Map Contact DCP
Programs & Resources

Meetings & Events

Trans-NIH Angiogenesis Workshop; May 20-21, 2013
  • Speaker Biosketches

    Portrait of Napoleone Ferrara, MD

    Napoleone Ferrara, MD
    (Moores Cancer Center, University of California, San Diego)

    Dr. Napoleone Ferrara obtained his MD degree in 1981 from the University of Catania Medical School in Italy. After completing his postdoctoral research at the University of California, San Francisco, he joined Genentech, Inc., in 1988, where he spent nearly 25 years working on the isolation, molecular cloning and biological characterization of VEGF-A, resulting in the development of bevacizumab, the first antiangiogenic agent to be approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for cancer therapy. Research there also led to the development of ofranibizumab, which was approved by the FDA for the treatment of multiple intraocular neovascular disorders. In December 2012 Dr. Ferrara joined the University of California, San Diego, as a Distinguished Professor of Pathology and Senior Deputy Director for Basic Sciences of the Moores Cancer Center. He plans to continue his research focusing on the biology of angiogenesis and the identification of its regulators.

    Dr. Ferrara has authored over 300 scientific publications, which have been cited over 70,000 times. He is also the recipient of numerous scientific awards, including the inaugural Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences recently awarded in February 2013. Other awards include the American-Italian Cancer Foundation Prize, the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) Cain Memorial Award, the Lefoulon-Delalande-Institut de France Prize, the Passano Award, the General Motors Cancer Research Award, the ASCO Science of Oncology Award, the Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award, the Macula Society Arnall Patz Award, the Lasker-deBakey Clinical Medical Research Award, the Janssen Award for Biomedical Research, and the Economist Innovation Award. Dr. Ferrara has been an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences since 2006.

    « Previous  |  Next »

Workshop Organizer: NIH

NCI:Nancy Emenaker, PhD, RD
Suzanne Forry-Schaudies, PhD
NHLBI: Yunling Gao, MD, PhD
NIDDK: Teresa Jones, MD

NIH - National Institutes of Health: Turning Discovery Into Health

Back to top

Trans-NIH Angiogenesis header